Fall TV 2016: What I’m Watching

The new TV season is officially upon us! Now, at the beginning of the year, the Canadian TV companies officially converted everything over to digital, so I’ve basically been without cable all year. No cable meant me watching everything online, after the fact. Also, with my busy schedule that’s going to keep on for some time, I don’t have the time that I used to to watch everything. So basically with this new TV season, I am trying to be super picky about what shows I’m devoting my time to. So what returning shows am I still sticking with this fall? And which new shows are on my list to check out?

MONDAYS

  • Supergirl
  • Jane the Virgin
  • Conviction [NEW]

Despite Supergirl‘s move to the CW, my Monday nights stay firmly in tact. Hayley Atwell’s American accent might take some getting used to, but I’m all in for Conviction. I also intend on watching DWTS, but that’s been relegated to YouTube video status – I don’t have the time to watch the full telecast.

TUESDAYS

  • Fresh Off the Boat
  • Agents of SHIELD
  • The Flash
  • Brooklyn Nine-Nine
  • No Tomorrow [NEW]*
  • This Is Us [NEW]*
  • The Mindy Project

Tuesdays, still full. I’m not so sure how much I’ll like No Tomorrow or This Is Us, but I’m very much willing to give it a chance. Everything else is just returning shows.

WEDNESDAYS

  • Survivor
  • Arrow
  • Black-ish
  • Empire*
  • Designated Survivor [NEW]
  • Speechless [NEW]*
  • Frequency [NEW]*
  • Salem
  • You’re the Worst

How did Wednesdays become so full? I feel like I say that all the time, but it’s still true. Salem‘s not back until November, and You’re the Worst might be done by then, but I’m still not incredibly happy that Salem is adding to my Wednesday load. Season 2 of Empire was not great, so it’s on my list for now, in hopes that it gets back to what made it great in S1. Not sure about Speechless or Frequency, but willing to give it a shot.

THURSDAYS

  • Legends of Tomorrow*
  • Notorious [NEW]*
  • Pitch [NEW]
  • Superstore
  • The Good Place [NEW]
  • How to Get Away With Murder*

Pitch and The Good Place look really good. Haven’t heard great things about Notorious, but for Piper Perabo and Daniel Sunjata, I’m giving it a chance. Legends of Tomorrow was off and on for me last season; I’m hoping it gets into a consistent creative flow in S2. As for How to Get Away With Murder? I feel like it went off the rails in S2, that I’m not even entirely sure I want to watch S3. If the first episode gives me a compelling reason to watch, then I’ll stick to it; otherwise, it’s getting the axe from me.

FRIDAYS

Ummm, with the final season of Grimm being relegated to midseason, I’ve got nothing. Catch-up day it is.

SUNDAYS

  • Last Man on Earth
  • Quantico*
  • Westworld [NEW]*

Quantico started off so well, and yet somewhere along the way, it became a soap opera mess. I desperately want it to do better in S2, but if it becomes ridiculous, it’s getting cut too. I don’t know much about Westworld, though it does look interesting, so give it a chance I will.

Starting off the season with 28 shows. How many will stay on my watch list by midseason? I guess we’ll just wait and see.

Leave a Reply

