Pop Cultured Summer 2015 – July

Summer is upon us! Which means its that special time of year where a lot of things happen, but also don’t happen. The movie blockbusters are coming in at full force, while TV takes it easy (sorta). There will also be plenty of concerts and events to fill up those wonderful summer days and nights. So here are some of the things I’m looking forward to!

JULY

Music in general has been a little slow for me, and by that I mean there hasn’t been a whole lot of new music coming out that I truly love. I suppose it’s sort of a good thing, seeing as how I don’t have very much time these days to be searching for new music and even so, I haven’t had much time to just sit and listen. All that ramble is to say that despite that fact (or maybe because of), I still manage to have one album I look forward to. On July 17th (yes, a Friday, because the industry has decided that new music releases get dropped on Fridays starting this month), PJ Morton and the Crusade will release their live CD/DVD Live Show Killer. PJ Morton is an incredibly talented musician, who is best known these days for working with Maroon 5. Don’t let that stop you (if you happen to not like Maroon 5, for which, shame) from listening to PJ’s solo work, which is a wonderful mix of R&B, pop, blues, and jazz. PJ assembled his own group of musician friends to put on this live concert back in May, and the result is this release.

Besides the stuff that premiered last month, TV maintains its laid-back summer style, with only two shows (both of which are kinda similar) that I’m excited to see. The first is the return of Hollywood Game Night (July 7), which is just SO much fun to watch, with the celebs and a great way for me to put my pop cultured brain to use. In the same vein, SyFy will premiere Geeks Who Drink (July 16), based off of the popular bar trivia contest, wherein two trivia pros and a celebrity will come together to compete against another team. Oh, and Zachary Levi plays host and executive producer for the show.

What’s the summer without movies? Though July brings about A LOT of movies, there are only three coming out this month that I really want to check out. Of course, we’ve got the next movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Ant-Man (July 17), starring Paul Rudd, Michael Douglas, and Evangeline Lilly. I know people have their doubts, especially after Edgar Wright left, but I have faith that at the very least, it’ll be a fun time at the movies. Also opening on July 17th is Trainwreck, a comedy starring and written by Amy Schumer, and directed by Judd Apatow. Flipping the script a little, the movie is about a commitment-phobe woman re-thinking her beliefs that monogamy isn’t possible when she meets a good guy (played by Bill Hader). The other movie I’m looking forward to is Southpaw (July 24), which stars Jake Gyllenhaal as Billy Hope, a boxer whose life falls apart after a tragedy and he must fight to get it back together. With a script from Sons of Anarchy‘s Kurt Sutter, directed by Antoine Fuqua, the film also stars Forest Whitaker and Rachel McAdams, and Eminem (who was initially eyed for the lead) serves as the soundtrack’s executive producer.

Oh, and there’s also a little thing this month called San Diego Comic-Con; maybe you’ve heard of it? All kidding aside, I am SO EXCITED for it! This will be my third year going and I can’t wait for awaits me down in San Diego.

San Diego Convention Centre

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

