5 Fandom Friday: Nerdiest Things I’ve Ever Done

fandom.5.friday

This week’s Fandom 5 is all about the nerdiest things we’ve done. As I started thinking about this week’s topic, I thought I was going to have trouble making the five, but once I started digging in a bit, well, let’s just say I nearly forgot how much of a nerd I was growing up, even if I didn’t realize it at the time.

1.) Going to Cons

San Diego Convention Centre

That initial decision to go to San Diego Comic Con. For the longest time, I didn’t really know this idea of being a geek, and I feel like it stems from not quite negative but a stigma of sorts from general society of what it means to be a geek/nerd. Then me being a fan of a lot of things, pop culture-wise, and not necessarily being the “stereotypical geek”, I just felt like I didn’t belong in this group somehow. Like I was a fake. I knew one thing for certain was my love of TV and movies, and hearing about SDCC year after year, I just got it into me that I wanted to go. At that point (this was nearly three years ago), I hadn’t done a trip on my own and it was sort of me wanting to do something for myself. So my one cousin (who I didn’t realize was so much like me. Distance will do that to you.) and I made our first trek to SDCC in 2013. Still one of the nerdiest things I’ve ever done, because I just hadn’t experienced anything like it. I did go to FanExpo to get a sense of it in 2012, but we all know SDCC is a whole other level.

2.) “Stalking” the Nikita Set

Nov. 12, 2012 - Waterloo Airport for episode 3x10 "Brave New World"

My love of Nikita is just beyond. If you read this blog regularly or follow me on Twitter, you know that by now. Cast of actors I loved (Maggie, Shane, Lyndsy, Melinda initially; then Aaron, Noah, Devon, Dillon, Lyndie) in a great show that filmed in and around Toronto – they were my life for four years. Every chance I could get to be near the set, when I found out their filming location, I tried my damned hardest to go (within restraints obviously – I don’t live in Toronto so it was infinitely harder to be so close, yet so far). Of course every single time I came close, but failed miserably at meeting any of the cast members. During that same time that Nikita was filming, I cared much more about other stuff filming, trying to catch Suits or Covert Affairs filming as well. After Nikita wrapped, I haven’t cared as much…although 12 Monkeys DOES film in Toronto, as does Orphan Black, but I’m not obsessed about finding locations. I don’t really need to constantly feel like I’m failing.

3.) Warner Brothers and Paramount Studio Tours

P1050422

Because seeing TV/movie magic and sets of some of your favourite shows is awesome. Though doing these studio tours are even more nerdy when you can answer pretty much every question the tour guides ask you.

4.) Sabrina the Teenage Witch

I LOVED Sabrina when I was younger. I can’t remember why, but I did. Enough to write a fan letter, mailed it, and found a signed cast photo get sent back to me months later.

5.) Entertainment + School

Throughout my entire education years, I pretty much found every excuse to incorporate my love of entertainment into school. Started off with talent shows in elementary school, then wrote papers/opinion pieces on what was going on in pop culture at the time for extra credit in middle school. Whenever I had to be creative in high school, I always used TV/movie character names. I remember senior Econ class, saw one of the topics for a project being “Salaries of Celebrities” and I was completely all over that, just short of simply yelling out “MINE! CALLED IT!” Every time I was able to tie-in media to any of my university papers, I was damn happy: Minority representation in the media, gender equality and representation, adaptations (for a movie course obviously). In my Speech Comm course, we covered three different types of speeches and what did I talk about? Music downloading, the Writers’ Strike, and movie sequels. I wrote a thesis on attending concerts! Also took classes on history of music and pop culture AND music in film. It’s not like I went to a media school and did this; I was a sociology major.

So yeah, those are the nerdiest things I’ve done in my life.

One thought on “5 Fandom Friday: Nerdiest Things I’ve Ever Done

Leave a Reply

